1. Navigate to the subsite for which the layout has to be edited.

2. Look for the Edit option in the top tool bar.

       (Note: The Edit option is visible only to the users with the appropriate level of security. 

                   Read more about FrontEnd Security levels here.)

       

3. Choose one of the available modes in the drop-down to edit.

            Draft - personal copy/draft that is only visible to the individual user who saved it

            Staging - collaborative version/copy available to multiple users with the permission to edit (E.g. Editors)

            Live - the version of layout that is published or Live on the site 

           


4. After choosing the mode, you will be redirected to the editing interface of the layout.

           


In the editing interface, you will be able to see the individual components on the layout. When you hover over an individual component, the name of the component will be displayed on the top left.


5. The top editing toolbar will now have different tabs as shown below.

  • Adding components:    

            Click on 'Components' tab in the top toolbar. 

            This will open up the list of available components further classified under four sub-sections 

                - Site Framework, Application, Media and Text.

            Expand the relevant sub-section.

            To select a component, use the four pronged cursor to drag it and drop it on the layout. 

After the component is dropped in to the layout, it will initially be empty.

Click on the empty component to activate the edit mode and add content (E.g. text in case of Formatted Text component) or the content source (E.g. source news category in case of News component etc.)

  • Editing a component:

           To edit a component on the layout, click on it to activate the edit mode.

           This will also open up the component properties tab on the left along with the option to Edit these properties.


For example, here's the image of Formatted Text component in Edit mode with properties tab on the left.  


  • Deleting a component:

To delete a component, click on the cross mark on the top right of the component.  


  • Editing Properties of the layout:

          Click on Properties in the top tool bar.

          It will display the layout properties on the left side along with an Edit button.

           Click on Edit to change the Title, Description etc.

           You can also switch to a different subsite template if required by clicking on the Select Template button.

Other properties include Delayed Publishing to publish the layout on a future date and Expiry to set up a date of expiry for the layout.

Click Save to save the new settings or click Cancel to exit.


  • Other options in the top tool bar include Owners, Security and Version

Add or assign users as the owners of the layout using the Owners tab. 

Click on Manage Owners to add new users or to manage the existing list of owners.

Click Save to save the new settings or click Cancel to exit.

  • The Security tab in the top tool bar is only visible to users with Full Control level of security. 

They can manage the security for other content owners by clicking on Manage Security

  • Version tab allows content owners to manage the different versions of the layout and to rollback to a previous version if required. To view the older versions, click on Manage Versions.


While viewing the list of older versions, to view a particular version, select the corresponding radio button and click View. You could also revert to a previous version by selecting the radio button and clicking on Revert in the action menu.

 

6. After adding content in the different components, go to other display modes (if applicable).

    The default display mode is that of Desktop. 

    Click on the option in the top tool bar as shown in the image below to view the other display modes

 (E.g. Tablet, Phone etc.)

    Rearrange the components wherever necessary to optimize the display.

    


7. Once you are done with the changes, you can have a preview of the layout before saving the layout. 

Click on the Preview button on the top right of the editing tool bar. 


8. In order to save the changes, click on Save on the top right section of the editing tool bar.

Choose one of the options, from the drop-down menu.   

  • Save My Draft & Keep Editing - saves the changes into a draft copy and allows you to continue editing
  • Save my Draft & Exit - saves the changes into a draft copy and exits the editing interface
  • Publish to Staging & Exit - saves the changes into a staging copy and exits the editing interface
  • Publish to Live & Exit - saves the changes on the Live copy of the layout and exits the editing interface

9. To simply exit the editing interface, without saving any changes, click on Exit in the top right corner.  


Editing a layout from Layout Manager 

1. Navigate to the subsite and click on the Layout Manager link on the top toolbar.

        (Note: The Layout Manager link is visible only to the users with the appropriate level of security. 

                   Read more about FrontEnd Security levels here.)


2. You will now be redirected to the Layout Manager application of the subsite.

    The layouts tab will list out all the layouts available for the site. 

        (Note: The layout that is currently applied to the subsite will be labelled as Applied.)


3. Select the layout you wish to edit, from the list by clicking on the corresponding check box.

4. Click on the Edit option in the Action menu.     

5. You will now be redirected to the editing interface of the selected layout.

    Once in the editing interface, make the required changes. 

    (For detailed instructions, go back to Steps 4 to 8 in the section above).